Review: Ginger’s Heart (A Modern Fairytale #3) by Katy Regnery

Posted April 1, 2016 by bookstobreathe in Book Review / 0 Comments

Review: Ginger’s Heart (A Modern Fairytale #3) by Katy RegneryTitle: Ginger’s Heart
Author: Katy Regnery
Series: A Modern Fairytale #3
Publisher: Self-Published
Release Date: March 22, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon UK
| B&N | iBooks | Kobo
TBR: Goodreads

In this modern retelling of "Little Red Riding Hood," the wolf and the woodsman are cousins, and Ginger is the little girl who claims both of their hearts.

Cain.

Woodman.

Ginger.

When three children grow up together in the rolling hills of Kentucky horse country,

One becomes a predator

One becomes a protector

And one becomes prey.

Ginger McHuid has been in love with the "Dub Twins" – Cain Wolfram and Josiah Woodman – for as long as she can remember. And for as long as the cousins can remember, they've each loved Ginger in their own all-consuming ways.

One will win her

One will be cast away

While one follows her heart.

GingersHeartBanner2

Author: Katy Regnery

Title: Ginger’s Heart

Series: A Modern Fairytale #3

Release Date: March 22, 2016

Ginger's Heart Cover

Ginger's Heart 3

Ginger’s Heart is part of the “A Modern Fairytale” collection, which will include four standalone, unrelated novels:

“The Vixen and the Vet” (Beauty & the Beast) – available now

“Never Let You Go” (Hansel & Gretel) – available now

“Ginger’s Heart” (Little Red Riding Hood) – available March 22, 2016

“Don’t Speak” (The Little Mermaid) – available June 16, 2017

Ginger's Heart 5

A note from Katy:

From my earliest days of plotting Ginger’s Heart, I had always intended that my heroes, Woodman and Cain, enter the U.S. Navy, and the choice to make them Damage Controlsmen (DC) came from the belief that it was one of the many naval careers that could segue organically into small-town employment at a local fire department. Every small town has a local fire department, right? Right.

One day in December 2015, as I was researching Damage Controlsmen on the internet, I came across the story of Nathan Bruckenthal. Bruckenthal, who served as a DC in the U.S. Coast Guard, died in the Persian Gulf in 2004, and was the first U.S. casualty of the War in Iraq. When he was killed, Bruckenthal was finishing his second tour in Iraq, looking forward to returning home to his pregnant wife and meeting his first child. Tragically, he was deprived of that homecoming.

As I opened up another web page on Bruckenthal, I was shocked to learn that he actually (cue wide eyes and loud gasp) grew up in my home town of Ridgefield, CT, graduated from Ridgefield High School and served for two years in our local fire department. It was a breath-catching surprise to learn that the man I was researching had served not only in our U.S. military, but in the town that I love and call home.

In honor of Nathan Bruckenthal’s sacrifice, and in profound thanks for his service, both at home and abroad, I am proud to announce that 25% of the net profits of e-book sales of Ginger’s Heartwill be donated to the Ridgefield, CT Volunteer Fire Department for all sales in March and April 2016.

Ginger's Heart 2

Excerpt from Chapter 12

An hour later they stopped by the Glenn River, eight miles downriver from Ginger’s house and two from the distillery where Cain had partied last night.

“We should water them,” he said, reining in Thunder and dismounting with the ease of a lifelong horseman.

She reined in Heath, who nickered in protest, and grinned down at Cain who reached up for her. His hands lingered for an extra moment on her hips as she slid down the front of his body. Leaning her head back, she stared up at him, daring him to pull her closer, to kiss her, to admit that this whole “friends” thing was bullshit on fire. But, he clenched his jaw, cleared his throat and dropped his hands.

“Thanks,” she murmured, her voice husky in her ears as he stared down at her, his eyes flinty and dark.

Taking Heath’s reins with a grunt, he turned away from her, leading the horses to the river’s edge and leaving her to follow behind. She leaned down to pick up a flat stone and skipped it across the slow moving water.

“Not bad,” said Cain.

You were always the best.”

“Nah,” he said. “Woodman was better.”

“Nope,” she countered, picking up another stone. “Woodman was good, but you were better. Remember that Fourth of July that you skipped eleven times? Eleven times. It was a record.”

Satisfied that the horses were calm and drinking their fill, Cain leaned down and grabbed a rock of his own, skipping it over the dark water.

One-two-three-four-five-six-seven…

“Wow!” she said, clapping lightly. “You’ve still got the touch!”

He turned to her, grinning. “You always get excited about the littlest things. What’s it like gettin’ a kick out of everythin’, Gin?”

“What’s it like gettin’ a kick out of nothin’, Cain?” she asked, her voice full of sass.

“I’m gettin’ a kick out of you right now, princess.”

A charge zapped between them as the words left his mouth, and her breath hitched and held for just a moment, but she looked down and picked up another rock. She was enjoying today too much to go back to Awkwardland.

She skipped her rock, which sunk after three measly hops.

“Remember when you saved my Cabbage Patch doll from certain doom in this river?” she asked him.

He screwed up his face as her. “Wasn’t me. Must have been Woodman.”

“It was you!” she insisted. “Not Woodman!”

“Savin’ a dolly? Please. That has Woodman written all over it. I couldn’t have cared less if it drowned.”

“But I cared,” she said softly. “Which is why you saved it.”

“Fine. Have it your way,” he said, sitting down on a large rock near the water’s edge.

She sighed, squatting down to wash her hands in the clear water before looking back at him. “Why do you do that?”

“Do what?”

“Let Woodman take credit for all the good things?”

He shrugged, looking away from her, out at the water. “I don’t.”

“You just did. Twice.”

He sighed, giving her a long-suffering look. “If somethin’ good happened, chances were, it was Woodman’s doin’.”

“How do you figure?”

“He’s the better man, Gin,” said Cain, his eyes severe, his words deliberate.

She stood up slowly, turning her body completely to face him. “Do you really believe that?”
He looked away. “It’s the truth.”

“Cain. Cain, look at me.” Her words didn’t feel like enough so she beseeched him with her eyes too. “You’re just as good a man as he is.”
“Ha!” scoffed Cain, standing up and moving away from her. “Not in this life, princess.”

All rights reserved. Used with permission.

Ginger's Heart 4

My Review

I spent the first part of this week binging on this new-to-me author’s series, A Modern Fairytale. For the first time ever, I can truly call this a series of standalones as none of the books share a single character or location. So go ahead and read them in any order you want to, but trust me, you will want to read them all! My favorite is still Never Let Me Go, but that doesn’t diminish the love I had for this story. From the beginning you know that at some point, she is going to have to choose between the two cousins. I knew from the first few pages who my choice was, and even though my choice was right in the end, the road to get there was paved with landmines and heartache. It was paved with friendship, loyalty, and everlasting love as well, which almost balanced everything out. This author is my new queen of angst and I simply couldn’t get enough!

I loved that even though this was clearly an unspoken triangle, there was no cheating and no bad guys. You didn’t want for one person to be alone in the end, but for most of the book, they were ALL alone. That in itself was almost as heartbreaking as one person losing out. I knew how I wanted this book to play out, and while some may say I have a morbid sense of humor, I honestly saw no other way for true resolution. She loved both these men for all her life in two completely different ways which at many times, blurred the lines between them all. Miscommunication, heartbreak, longing, confidants, friendship, and love were just a few of the themes in this story. This author is officially on my radar and I can’t wait for the next story to come out in this series!

Ginger's Heart 1

5685_548537435306654_3682244740874162163_n


2

The Vixen and the Vet

Amazon US

81L0j9VbT8L

In this modern-retelling of “Beauty and the Beast,” Savannah Carmichael, betrayed by an unreliable source, returns to her hometown of Danvers, Virginia with her once-promising journalism career in ruins. Given the opportunity to get back in the game by writing a patriotic human interest piece, Savannah turns her attention to the town hermit, Asher Lee, a wounded veteran who returned to Danvers eight years ago, and hasn’t been seen since.

After an IED explosion in Afghanistan took Asher’s hand and disfigured half of his face, he’s lived a quiet life on the outskirts of Danvers where the locals respect his privacy…that is, until Savannah Carmichael comes calling in a borrowed sundress with a plate of homemade brownies. When Asher agrees to be interviewed by Savannah, he starts feeling things for the beautiful reporter that he hasn’t felt in years.

Misfits in small-town Danvers, Savannah and Asher create a bond right away, touching each other’s hearts in ways neither thought possible. When a terrible mistake threatens to drive them apart, they’ll have to decide if the love they found in one another’s arms is strong enough to fight for their hard-won happily ever after.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

The Vixen and the Vet is a standalone novel inspired by Beauty & the Beast. Contemporary Romance: Due to profanity, realistically depicted scenes of war and very strong sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.


Never Let You Go

Amazon US

NeverLetYouGoUpdatedEbookCover

Regret, betrayal, kidnapping, loss, madness, abuse, passion, love.

In this modern retelling of Hansel and Gretel, thirteen-year-old foster children Griselda and Holden escape from their abductor after three years of brutal captivity, and try to cross the Shenandoah River on foot. Tragically, one of them makes it to safety, but the other is left behind.

Ten years later, Griselda’s boyfriend drags her to a fight club grudge match, and her world is turned upside down when she watches Holden step into the ring.

Though the connection between them is fierce, bitter regret, simmering rage, and a tangle of physical and emotional scars lie between them, just as dangerous as the white water of the Shenandoah.

Never Let You Go is a story of fear and hope, defeat and survival, and two people–once profoundly broken–who discover that love is the only thing that can make them whole again.

***
This is a standalone novel inspired by Hansel and Gretel. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to profanity, scenes of physical abuse and very strong sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18. (Note: Children are not sexually abused in this book.)

About Katy Regnery

Award-winning and Amazon bestselling author Katy Regnery started her writing career by enrolling in a short story class in January 2012. One year later, she signed her first contract for a winter romance entitled By Proxy.

Now a hybrid author who publishes both independently and traditionally, Katy claims authorship of the six-book Heart of Montana series, the six-book English Brothers series, and a Kindle Worlds novella entitled Four Weddings and a Fiasco: The Wedding Date. Katy’s short story “The Long Way Home” appears in the first Romance Writers of America anthology, Premiere, and she has published two stand-alone novels, Playing for Love at Deep Haven and the Amazon bestseller The Vixen and the Vet, which is book one in Katy’s a m o d e r n f a i r y t a l e collection. The Vixen and the Vet was nominated for a RITA® Award in 2015.

Katy lives in the relative wilds of northern Fairfield County, Connecticut, where her writing room looks out at the woods, and her husband, two young children, and two dogs create just enough cheerful chaos to remind her that the very best love stories begin at home.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.